Preview: Nigeria Vs South Africa | Team News | Full Squad | Head-to-Head


The 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifier will kick off across the continent this weekend and Nigeria will hope to continue their competitive unbeaten run against the Bafana Bafana of South Africa. 

The three-time AFCON champions have never lost any competitive game to their South African counterparts at senior level and they will hope to continue this run at Uyo this evening. 

Nigeria has missed the last two editions of the Biennial African show-piece (2015 in Equatorial Guinea and 2017 in Gabon), a jinx that Rohr and his staff will want to correct.
The West African team are pitted in group E alongside South Africa, Libya and Seychelles.

Previous Encounters & Head-to-Head:

10 Oct 1992: Nigeria 4 South Africa 0 @ Lagos (WCQ)

16 Jan 1993: South Africa 0 Nigeria 0 @ Johannesburg (WCQ)

10 Feb 2000: Nigeria 2 South Africa 0 @ Lagos (Nigeria 2000 AFCON semifinal)

31 Jan 2004: South Africa 0 Nigeria 4 @ Monastir (Tunisia 2004 AFCON group stage)

17 Nov 2004: South Africa 2 Nigeria 1 @ Johannesburg (Mandela Challenge)

READ ALSO:  Tottenham Coach of Nigerian Descent Dies At The Age Of 44

1 June 2008: Nigeria 2 South Africa 0 @ Abuja (WCQ)

6 September 2008: South Africa 0 Nigeria 1 @ Port Elizabeth (WCQ)

11 August 2013: South Africa 0 Nigeria 2 @ Durban (Mandela Challenge)

19 January 2014: South Africa 1 Nigeria 3 @ Cape Town (CHAN group stage)

10 September 2014: South Africa 0 Nigeria 0 @ Cape Town (AFCON Qualifier)

19 November 2014: Nigeria 2 South Africa 2 @ Uyo (AFCON Qualifier)

29 Mar 2015: South Africa 1 Nigeria 1 @ Nelspruit (Friendly)
Nigeria– P12, W7, D4, L1

South Africa– P12 W1, D4, L7
Key;    P-Played, D-Drew, D-Drew, L-Lost.
Form from last five matches:

Nigeria-W D D W W

South Africa-D W D W D
Team News


  •  Team captain John Mikel Obi is ruled out for this encounter as he is yet to recover from injury.
  • First choice goalkeeper Carl Ikeme is also out injured.
  • .Cente-back  Leon Balogun is also sidelined for this fixture owing to injury.
  • Chelsea’s Victor Moses has been excused from the squad as he is scheduled for an operation in the summer.
READ ALSO:  Former Eagles striker set to join English club


  • Noah Bazee, who was called up but is yet to make his debut will also miss out on account of injury.

South Africa 

  • Defender Rivaldo Coetzee prospective involvement in this match is a doubt as the medical staffs of the team have been sweating on his fitness in camp. 
  • Twente Enschede’s Kamohelo Mokotjo did not travel with the squad to Nigeria 
  • Mamelodi Sundowns’ Hlompho Kekana has also been excluded from this match due to injury concerns. 



    Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United) Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)

    Defenders: William Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Uche Agbo (CF Granada, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

    Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United FC)

    READ ALSO:  Victor Moses: Pedro admits Barcelona players asked him about Eagles star

    Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Olanrewaju Kayode (FC Austria Wien, Austria); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany) Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England)
    South Africa:

    Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)

    Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits), Erick Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Lorenzo Gordinho (Kaizer Chiefs), Abbubaker Mobara (Orlando Pirates), Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits)

    Midfielders: Tiyani Mabunda (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France), Andile Jali (KV Oostende FC, Belgium), Lebogang Phiri (Brondby, Denmark) Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongani Zungu (Vitoria Guimares, Portugal), Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City FC)

    Forwards: Sibusiso Vilakazi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebohang Manyama (Cape Town City FC), Tokelo Rantie (Genclerbirligi FC, Turkey), Thamsanqa Gabuza (Orlando Pirates), Kermit Erasmus (Lens, France)

    Facebook Comments