Real Madrid are La-Liga Champions! | Los Blancos Clinch 33rd League Title, First in Five Seasons


Real Madrid have beaten bitter rivals Barcelona to the La-Liga title as their 2-0 win at Malaga sealed victory for the Los Blancos who have had to wait five years to lift the trophy again.

The Zinedine Zidane-led side went into the final day of the season needing a point at La Rosaleda to oust bitter rivals Barcelona as champions.

READ ALSO:  Real Madrid: We wont refund supporters money following Copa Del Rey exile

In the end they did more than enough as goals from Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema secured a 29th win of the top-flight campaign.

Overall, Madrid extended their all-time record for LaLiga wins to 33 and it is a success that checks Barcelona’s recent dominance of the competition.

Los Blancos’ previous title came under Jose Mourinho in 2011-12, marking their longest drought since Johan Cruyff’s Barca won four in a row between 1990-91 and 1993-94.

READ ALSO:  Florentin Perez Re-elected as Madrid president

Madrid now have two LaLiga triumphs over the past nine seasons, set alongside six for Barca and Atletico Madrid’s surprise march to glory in 2013-14.

Zidane’s men will now attempt to become the first team in the Champions League era to retain their European crown when they face Juventus in Cardiff on June 3.

Facebook Comments