Oshoala, Iwobi, Iheanacho & Iwobi hopeful of winning in 2016 GLO CAF Award


As the 2016 edition of the Glo-CAF Award holds today in Abuja, four Nigerians are hopeful of winning in their categories.

Super Falcons coach, Florence Omagbemi, who led the team to win the 10th African Women’s Nations Cup recently in Cameroon will battle it out with two male coaches in the National Coach of the Year category. She has Florent Ibenge (DR Congo national team)
and Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns) 
as contestants.

For the Women’s Player of the Year
category, Super Falcons and Arsenal Ladies striker, Asisat Oshoala, who emerged as top scorer in Cameroon will battle it out with Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)
and Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & Rossyanka).

Super Eagles and Manchester City striker, Kelechi Iheanacho is in the Most Promising Talent
category alongside Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)  
 and Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig).

READ ALSO:  EFCC quizzes top NFF officials over financial malpractices

Arsenal striker, Alex Iwobi is listed in the Youth Player of the Year Category alongside Eric Ayiah (Ghana And Charity FC) and Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Ghana and Supreme Ladies).

The African Player of the Year award category has
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) 
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
 Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool).

READ ALSO:  Why Iheancho flopped against United in League Cup

Other categories include:
African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
 Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns) 
Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe).

Club of the Year
Mamelodi Sundowns, 
TP Mazembe, Zesco United

National Team of the Year
DR Congo,

Women’s National Team of the Year
 Nigeria, South Africa

READ ALSO:  Gernot Rohr warns Ighalo over Chinese move

Referee of the Year
Bakary Papa Gassama      
Ghead Zaglol Grisha     
Malang Diedhiou

Football Leader of the Year
Manuel Lopes Nascimento, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

Legend Award
Laurent Pokou, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire
Emilienne Mbango, Former player of Cameroon.


culled from theguardian.

Facebook Comments